Your voice has a chance to be heard now! - we bring changes together.

report scam


Country United States
State Utah
City Provo
Address 235 E 1600 S Ste 110
Phone 855.947.5622

ZipLocal Reviews

Most Useful Comment
  • Mar 9, 2016

Be aware of ZipLocal's absurd terms and conditions and poor, poor customer service. ZipLocal asks their customers to sign a terms and agreement for a year but once the year is over they don't feel the need to ask the customer for another signed agreement. So basically, if you sign an agreement with ZipLocal, that is your "lifetime" agreement with them until you cancel. Let me say that again...a "year" agreement with ZipLocal is not a year agreement. Once the year is up they will keep charging you until you send a written agreement to cancel.

How to cancel? Well don't depend on your local rep who set you up. ZipLocal takes zero responsiblity for how their sales rep treat their customers. We called our sales rep to cancel (because that is what people normally do, you call the person who set you up and the person you've been talking to for the past ten months) and the sales rep doesn't remind us that we need to send a written notice to cancel (because after a year of service we don't remember what our terms say. The is company's responsibility to make us aware of that. It's called good customer service). The rep says "okay, yes we will cancel you." So after our year is up we get charged for two more months after that. Why? Because the person we tried to tell, left the company and no one notified us that our rep left. Our rep's voicemail still says he works there even. (Seeing how shady these people are, I imagine the guy still works there. His name is Terry Prince). A notice letting us know that our year has ended and that we are still being charged month -to-month would have been nice too.

The nationwide company has a 5 person customer service department and they all sit in the same office and the highest person in that office doesn't even take phone calls...?? How does that make sense?

Mackenzie the Customer Service Supervisor said they work just like a cable company...good comparison Mackenzie, seeing how most cable companies (Like Comcast) are rip offs too. Any company who tells me that they work like a cable company is no longer a company I would ever give my business too and neither should anyone else.

Any company who has terms and agreements that don't allow you to re-sign a new agreement once your year is up is shady and should not be allowed to be in business.

Mark as Useful [2 votes]
  • Jun 15, 2016

Company Response to Review - Resolved with Customer

We have contacted this customer and this account has been resolved, following is our previous response from April 2016:

We have researched the advertising account relating to the complaint made by Heidi. Our records show that the President of Growler Boys, Mike Larson, signed a contract to advertise his company through our digital marketing program on December 14, 2014. The contract shows a monthly rate contract locked in for the first year, and Mr. Larson has been billed monthly the entire time. As is the industry standard for current digital advertising programs, the services are not just pulled away from the advertiser after a year of use; they are continued on a month-to-month basis to maintain consistent service without interruption. In the event that we were to “pull the plug” on all digital services we provide to contracted advertisers, there would be problems created for potential customers attempting to contact those businesses. The dropped service would have to start over again with a new customer base, resulting in lost customers. For this reason, we ask for a cancellation request in any written form (email, mail, or fax) before discontinuing. This further avoids the potential for miscommunication regarding services, or “he said – she said” misunderstandings caused by verbal discussions. The necessity for a written request to our office is further reinforced by the fact that sales representatives can leave, but our corporate office contact information remains consistent. The contract signed by Mr. Mike Larson clearly shows our contact information and phone number, as well as agreement of and location for the terms.

The sales representative that Ms. Larson mentions is, in fact, no longer employed by Ziplocal. As is reasonable with most companies involving sales representatives, our company does not notify all of our customers when a sales rep’s employment is terminated. Again, the services were provided on a month-to-month basis, and they were not pulled because we had not received anything in writing. The cost had not been increased and the services were not altered; there was nothing “shady” that occurred, as claimed.

Our company has been in the advertising business for over 40 years, and we have a history of building solid, ongoing business relationships with our customers. We have been in communications with this business and have come to an amicable resolution.

  • Oct 11, 2016

Great experience, good company

I did a lot of research on ziplocal before deciding to do business with them. I met a couple of there representatives at the Seattle business expo. Even though I read some negative reviews (ones on this site included) I decided to try them out. It was well explained that I was agreeing to a year contract and clearly outlined that I had 3 days to review my program before moving forward. I have now been into this advertising for about 4 months and I have seen some great results. A girl named Kassara handled my initial experience and she had excellent follow up skills. I specifically came back to this web site to offer words contrasting the negative reviews. My experience could not of been more different then outlined other places. I will, and have recommended them to my friends.

Mark as Useful [1 vote]
  • Sep 15, 2016

I talked to Zach at ziplocal said I need more help with marketing my business. I did not and do not have a brick and mortar store only online store. So I told him I wanted to bring more people to my site whether that be from social media or SEO. So Zach sold me a package where they list my business in a directory. Until I found out that this is what he sold me the contract passed the three days so I was locked in. I told him I did not want my business located in directories I wanted help with SEO/Social Media. He stated sorry that is the contract and we will add 5 keywords to your SEO. 5 keywords for $169 a month for 1 year. This did not bring me in one sale. I told everyone even Dale a higher up manager that I was not happy all everyone of those employees stated sorrth thats whats in the contract not caring at all that this was not helping me and costing me a huge expense every month. I felt helpless and had to pay to avoid collections. I finally finished and now they are still agrguing with me even after I showed them proof of 12 payments. This is one of the worst companies I have ever dealth with so cold and heartless. All they want are sales not retention. So please stay away use another service. I learned my lesson to never get into a contract as well.

Mark as Useful [1 vote]
  • Jun 10, 2016

Zip Local at ( among the worst services and experience on the Internet for SEO services. We contacted Zip Local for SEO services, after paying the Company for 3 months or so and getting zero results we had to drop them. This Company left us in a very bad situation after that. Because we used up all resources and got zero work or results. It was months later after we left them that we were able to pick up the pieces and hire a new Company to do our SEO. This new Company was much better, started getting some results. As soon as this was happening, all of a sudden ZIP LOCAL starts calling us out of the woodworks claiming the other Company's work despite, severing ties many months earlier!! But ZIP LOCAL would not stop making menacing phone calls claiming work that they did not do and left us broke. Soon after ignoring their menacing phone calls, we get phone calls from their lawyer claiming we owe $5-$6000 for which they did not work.

We explained to the lawyer that they provided zero services, from the lawyers response it would see I was not the first person they did this to. When ZIP LOCAL realized their lawyer figured their SCAM they hire another Lawyer from another state to do the same and bother us with menacing phone calls claiming we owe $5000-$6000 dollars!!! We owe this Company nothing that did no work and left us broke!!! Now we are with another Company it seems they are following us around like a leech or a bunch of parasites! Trying to extort $5000-$6000 out of us after making us broke!! This Company is a hanger on leech that will try to extort money from their customers but they will not deliver the work they promised but will follow you around and try to hang your neck for the lack of work they do. Among the worst Companies we have dealt with for SEO Services on the net!! Be warned!!

Mark as Useful [1 vote]
  • Jun 20, 2016

Company Response to Unwarranted Review

We have researched all of our account records based on the limited amount of information provided and have not been able to locate any matching account. We are requesting that this “Outscam Report” site fairly provide us with more detailed information in order for us to properly defend this excessive claim. At this time, we will have to dispute this claim as being unfairly slanderous and undeserved, with no provision for our company to locate the person or business making these accusations.

In general, Ziplocal provides many different products and the results depend on the package ordered by customers. For the SEO service, there are two different products – a local search product and our premium SEO products. The term length of the contract varies, but our company would maintain liability if a customer attempted to cancel outside the contract term or refused payment for services provided.

Our company has been in business for over 40 years (offering print and online advertising), and our digital products are top-of-the-line. We are disputing this report as invalid, and again request further information in order to properly research and respond.

Thank you,

Stacy C.

Customer Relations Manager

  • Aug 21, 2017

Hands down the worst company I have ever worked with. I was lied to and scammed with empty promises right out the gate. This company all but voided their contract with me by being so misleading. When I complained I was gauranteed that the employee who signed me up had lied to several clients and had been fired. I agreed to continue my contract out of the kindness of my heart but nearly a year in I find that they have still done little to nothing for my seo. When looking into it the other day they have never submitted my business to any readily known or searchable engines. I finally gave up and started doing so myself. All ranking I have now I had before I paid them hundreds and hundreds if not thousands of dollars. I'm considering bringing my attorney into this at this point. I habe never been mislead or mistreated by any company like this one. Please be very aware and do your research. I am not the first person to have this experience.

  • Nov 6, 2016


My husband contracted with ZipLocal. They have done nothing to help his business whatsoever. They do, however, remember to send their "bills" and their Customer Representatives to harass my husband and treat him with disrespect in his own shop.... Did I mention that this is a terrible company?

  • Sep 8, 2016

I used Ziplocal for assistance with social media marketing on Google Plus only to promote a website at . I had previously used a company based in India for social media marketing efforts. The India company got things set up on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, etc. But there were problems on Google Plus because of Google's prejudice against foreign-based companies. I told the India-based company to skip Google Plus marketing efforts beacuse we were having too many problems getting around Google's security procedures. The India-based company did a good job of getting things set up on the other social media platforms.

I used Ziplocal specifically to set things up Google Plus. Since Ziplocal is based in the USA we had less trouble getting past Google's security procedures. Only 3 months at $59/month was aggreed to. I have the aggreement on paper that is all that was authorized.

Ziplocal proved to be a big disappointment. They accomplished much less on Google Plus than the India company achieved on other social media platforms. I did not like it one bit when they charged my credit card for a fourth month I did not aggree to.

I urge all readers of this message, please do not use Ziplocal for social media marketing. You won't get your money's worth. They will charge your credit card in excess of whatever you authorized.

  • Dec 7, 2015

I met ZipLocal Representative Zachary Haycock at the New York Business Expo (NYXPO) at Javits Center, on October 27, 2015. He explained his s****.>

Write a Review about ZipLocal